CCWM Founders

The Congolese Community of Washington Metropolitan (CCWM) was formed in response to the lack of a structured organization that could not only promote the interests and heritage of Congolese immigrants living in the DMV area, but also encourage social solidarity among them.

On December 22nd, 2013,  twenty one people (Hilaire Ngimbi, Benzoi Ilanga, Deborah Kipene Lubula, Marcel Kakwata, Roger Shakembo, Marie-Claire Ghonda Mpanu-Mpanu, Vava Kasaka,

Jean Mayaka, Ngimbi Kalumvueziko, Mbuyi Tuambilangana, Jimbo Kalaw, Carine Kabwasa, Marie L. Kayeye, Eddy Kabwasa, Ralph Mpanu Mpanu, Nicole Ukiteyedi, Serge Kwezituka, John Musanzi, Claude Kamana Ukiteyedi, Claudine Eale, Jacques Kalaw ) gathered in Chevy Chase, MD and started to consider mechanisms that would need to be put in place in order to achieve the long-held dream of having an structured Congolese organization. After a year of meetings, discussions and community outreach, the first election of the organization was held on January 18th, 2014 and Jean Mayaka became the first president of the organization.

Click to Become Member